I may Never Sleep

I may never sleep again… Image result for pics of people sleeping

After a week of chaos, filled with stress, I was so looking forward to this weekend. I was in bed asleep. I am not a heavy sleeper so it doesn’t take a lot to wake me up.

It was the rustling of a plastic bag that aroused me. I sat there listening for a moment and realized that it sounded like there was something in it. Like a true wife, I wake up my husband.

“I hear something. I’m scared it’s a mouse or something, but it sounds bigger. Can you look?” My husband, also typical, tells me to turn the light on and he will look, as he flips over and starts snoring again.

Fulfilling my wifely roles perfectly, I said, “I’m afraid to turn the light on. I will do it if I can get up on your side of the bed, because if I step down here, it may crawl on my feet.”

He decided to be the husband he committed to be, he got up out of bed, turned the light on, and investigated the bag situation, determining everything to be okay. He told me that the fan was blowing the bag and that all was well.

I was satisfied with that answer. I thanked him kindly and flipped over to go to sleep.

It must have been 20 minutes before I heard the bag situation again. This time, I opened my eyes and approximately 5 inches from my face, I saw it.

I screamed at the top of my lungs and dove under the blankets for safety. As if material was going to protect me from this demon.

My scream obviously woke up my husband who was no longer in our room, by the way. He decided to shut the door behind him and shut all the children’s doors. I don’t know what he was doing after that, because it took quite a while. In the meanwhile, I’m panting under the blankets. I was too scared to crack them open because I didn’t want the thing to crawl in there and attack me.

I start to yell again. “The bat is going to swoop down and get into my hair. I can’t breathe!”

My husband said to me, “I’m going to open the door and flip the light on. You need to run out of there really fast on the count of three.”

“I’m gonna catch rabies!”

“No you’re not, just run.”

“I’m not kidding, they go for my hair.”

“Just run.”

I ran. Fast. The problem, the bat disappeared behind the curtains. We spent the next 2 hours trying to find that thing, to no resolve.

I live with the question, is it gone, or is it going to pop it’s furry little head out and torment me again? 5 inches from my face, I’m lucky to be alive!

