A Can of Sardines

Image result for pics of sardines

 

I am not sure what happened, however, the other day my son came home from school begging me to buy him a can of sardines. I looked at him blankly and asked him if he knew what sardines were.

He said that he didn’t, but that it was okay because he wanted them anyway. I asked him why and he just shrugged his shoulders stating that he likes to try new things. This has never been the case before, but I didn’t say much about it.

I just shook my head and continued about my business. The next day the same thing happened. The day after that it was the same thing again. This went on every single day for at least a week and a half. The boy begged and begged for a can of sardines.

Monday, my husband had to go to the store after he picked up the kids from school. Immediately my son started right in begging his dad to get him a can of sardines. Finally, my husband took him to the aisle and he found some sardines and together they decided to get some covered in hot sauce.

When they got home, my son comes running into the house screaming, “Daddy bought me sardines!” I didn’t believe him and just blew him off while I was cooking dinner, pretty much shrugging my shoulders. A few minutes later he grabbed the can out of the bag and said, “Can I eat them now?”

I looked at my husband and said, “You really bought sardines?”

He said, “Why not? He wanted to try them.” I am not sure why I thought that was so strange, but for whatever reason I did. We grabbed out the crackers and pulled the sardines out of the can. My son smiled a big-toothed smile. My husband plops half a sardine on a cracker and my son put the whole thing in his mouth. His brow furrowed for a quick second and then he walks into the kitchen, swallows, and asks his dad for another one!

He ate the whole can!

Two days later, my husband and my son went to the store together, and sure enough they come home with another can of sardines. This time the mustard kind. My son can hardly sit still; he’s been begging to eat them. I tell him if he eats his vegetables he can eat them.

This week, sardines have now become a staple in the house.

I still have no idea where or why my son decided he wanted to eat them, he says he doesn’t know; but whatever the reason, his body blatantly loves them. Now my house has a weird fishy smell to it.

