My Focus on Ford

 

My focus on Ford

The other day, my husband bought me a gift- it was a 1995 Ford Mustang GT. The car needs some body work done, but the engine runs quite well. I’ve always wanted a Mustang, though the year isn’t quite right, this car definitely puts a smile on my face. My husband hopes that it will satisfy my Mustang craving for a few years and I agreed that it would. Hopefully I’m telling the truth.

I have come to some conclusions about the differences between my two cars. First and foremost, my loyal and reliable car is the Ford Escape. I have put over 50,000 miles on her in under a year (no exaggeration). I have decided that my Escape is pretty much a 45 year old, slightly overweight, black woman. I named her Bessie.

Bessie is a cool car with a lot of attitude. My commute usually goes very smoothly, however, getting onto the onramps, Bessie brings out her attitude. I can almost hear her say, “Girl, if you think I’m gonna get up this early in the morning to drive at 80 MPH in less than a minute and a half, you are out of your mind. I just got my wax job done too, don’t think I’m gonna drive in the rain now. You know I hate foul weather. Girl, I need my beauty rest, I’m tired. Can’t you let me wake up first?”

That’s when I stick my foot all the way into the tank and say something like this, “Come on car, you’ve got to go faster than this, you’re gonna get me killed.” I hear the engine rev up, I feel the 4 tires working together to get up the gumption to go. She’s a 4 cylinder 4 wheel drive. That concept confuses both me and Bessie as well.

Once Bessie warms up, I can hear her say, “Ahh this is nice. This feels good. That’s right, I got this.” I lock her in at 80 and I can pretty much quit paying attention. See, Bessie is reliable and seems to know how to drive herself. Periodically someone will get in her way and she and I together spend the next five minutes questioning how on earth that person received their driver’s license. Neither one of us ever figures that one out.

Bessie likes it quiet. Her stereo isn’t loud, her engine doesn’t really rev up, and her muffler is near silent. She likes things to go smoothly. She’s the kind of car that doesn’t want her paint chipped. She’s a classy kind of car that seems to think driving is hard enough, she doesn’t need any thrills in life. She yells at me every 3000 miles on the dot to get her oil changed. She kind of freaks out on me if I am late. Me and Bessie have a good and trusting relationship.

My Mustang is likely to be called Timmy. He’s like a 12 year-old boy. Timmy is loud and obnoxious. He hits the highway at 90 MPH in less than 15 seconds. Timmy is a squirmy little thing. As soon as I’m on the highway, if I’m not paying close attention, Timmy will chase the first squirrel he sees. He slightly enjoys the rumble strip and makes his way anywhere he can. I have to fight Timmy to keep him in a straight line. Timmy is very sensitive and if I move the wheel a quarter of an inch, Timmy will react quickly.

Timmy likes noise. He’s a loud boy. If the stereo isn’t loud enough for the neighbors to hear, he makes sure the exhaust will be. He wants attention and he wants it now. Timmy has two exhaust pipes and both of them rumble with every move. The engine comes to life and if Timmy isn’t going fast enough I can hear him whine. He gets excited to go on the next adventure.

Timmy loves to jump at red lights. Often, I will be sitting at a red light and someone will come up next to me and rev their engine, Timmy gets happy and revs his harder. Once the light turns, Timmy consistently has to be the first through the light. Sometimes I have to pull the reigns on that one and Timmy gets mad. Timmy doesn’t like to stop either. I have to put my foot down hard to get Timmy to stop. Once he’s at 90, he likes to maintain the speed and show off for the other cars around him. Often I find myself scolding Timmy for going so fast. I explain to him that I’m going to get pulled over, however, he soon forgets and speeds off again. Timmy never maintains a constant speed.

It’s amazing that both cars are made by the same manufacturer and how they have completely different attitudes. It’s even more amazing how their attitudes can rub off on me and how I feel. With Bessie, I mean business. I’m going to be going to work or I have children in the car. With Timmy, I typically have a smile on my face and really Timmy doesn’t enjoy having backseat passengers, so the kids usually stay home.

Which car is better? They have both become an important part of my family. They each serve a specific purpose in our lives. Thank you Ford for understanding the need for separation of work and play. J

 

