Go to Forks and Pee in the Snow

I’ve lived in this town my while life, and most of the time that’s fine by me. But in late fall when the sky fills with birds migrating south for the winter, traveling thousands of miles, I get homesick for places I’ve never been. Places like, Narnia, or Forks, Washington, the Ozarks, or even Hogwarts. I long to taste the flesh of wild fruit, while being serenaded by a handsome prince. I long to explore my surroundings in a world where I’m not afraid of letting go.

I miss the adventure of climbing a mountain on the back of a strong vampire who sparkles in the sunlight. I miss running from the magic of a wicked witch in the midst of saving my friends and family from all of their troubles. I miss casting strange spells on my enemies during a game of quidditch. I miss exploring the serene riverbanks and washing my hands in the rivers next to wild bear.

When we work diligently day-to-day, we forget to allow ourselves to explore. Life can become mundane and sometimes kind of transparent. We lack the enjoyment of color that the rainbows bring. There are times when we have to allow ourselves a day off. Each person needs a fiesta, or a moment to themselves where they allow their imaginations to run free. Each adult needs to remember the inner child. Take a reminder from the kids exploring the woods, playing in the dirt, sword fighting with sticks, etc. They can teach us to remember the enjoyment that life has to offer.

It’s okay to learn if you can really write your name in the snow when you pee… Just make sure nobody’s watching.

