Scared Silent

There was a flash of light outside the window. I was lying next to my husband when we both noticed it.

There was a flash of light outside the window. I was lying next to my husband when we both noticed it.

“What’s that?” I asked, my brain not able to interpret the unusual visual.

“I’m not sure.” My husband answered, seemingly as confused as I was.

We both sat up for a moment, unsure what to make of the very intense flash that we both saw.

“Lightening?” He asked doubtfully.

I shrugged my shoulders in discomfort. Something felt eerie to me. We both lay back down, neither one of us saying anything but neither one of us able to go to sleep either.

Outside we heard a shriek. It sounded like someone was completely tormented.

“Something’s going on!” He said, as he got up to switch on the light.

I clutched the blankets close to my chest. There was another shriek. I glanced out the window but couldn’t see anything. I heard the dog bark wildly for a moment, but then it stopped. Silence.

My husband shut off the light. He slid under the covers and wrapped his long muscular arms around me. I closed in on him, feeling the coolness of his body against mine.

“I didn’t see anything out there, did you?” I asked him.

“Not a thing.” He whispered to me. “Go to sleep.” He said.

I lay my head on my pillow to feel my husband combing his fingers through my hair. I sighed comfortably.

Just as I closed my eyes and started to drift off, I noticed an earthly smell, one that I’ve smelled before, but couldn’t quite place it.

“Do you smell that?” I asked.

My husband didn’t answer. He must have been sleeping.

I leaned over and turned on my reading light.

I saw my husband’s hand on the floor on the other side of the room. Shock hit me as I turned over and looked at where my husband was next to me, holding onto me.

The wide green eyes were staring at me lustfully; his bald egg-shaped head laying on my husband’s pillow. I tried to scream, but I was too scared, only air left my mouth. My heart was racing and the disgusting thing smiled at me. He took one of his long crooked fingers and touched me gently on the lips. I was paralyzed.

The last thing I remember was me trying to call my husband’s name, clutching the blankets tightly to my body, with tears rolling down my face, that earthly smell getting stronger as he closed in on me, then I blacked out…

