Why I Write

I’ve been asked a few times in my past, “Why do you write if you already have a full-time job? You can’t be good at everything.”

My answer is, “I don’t view it as work. Instead, it’s a passion. By the way, I never said I was good at it, either.”

I have a very fast-paced mind. I have learned that through writing, I can process information better. I have learned so much about myself that it is amazing. I know who I am. I know too many people that can’t say that they actually know who they are. Additionally, I love me. I know even more people that cannot say that!

Writing has given me that. Think about it, I can conjure up any fear, any passion, any desire using the tip of my fingers. If I’ve had a stressful day at work- doing what we do, pretty much every day is stressful- I can write out my stress. It’s easy to see how I feel based on what I write.

For example, I can describe a psychotic killer who goes after a blonde bombshell who finally actually runs down the stairs (instead of being trapped upstairs!) and come to find out the guy wasn’t psychotic at all, instead he was saving her from the plague of frogs that everyone has been talking about. Weird and random, I know, but you get the point.

If I’m down, I can write about my sadness, my fears, my hurt and when it’s out there like that, it’s disappeared from me.

When I’m happy, I can write about my happiness, invent humorous things, and once it’s out of me, I can go back and read it and laugh all over again. Writing gives me that option.

Sometimes I feel romantic. God knows, I married the least romantic man in the world. So what? I can make up the guy. Instead of taking it out on my husband, who is clueless to romance (I knew that marrying him), I can write down the perfect romantic get-away and smile as characters from my mind enjoy themselves passionately.

Regardless of what it’s about, writing clears your head. Since my head is busy, I can use a good cleaning once in a while. This allows me to rid myself of baggage and approach each day as refreshed and new. In fact, instead of asking me why I write, I’m going to change it around and say, “Why don’t you write?”

