Jesus in a Kid’s Perspective

Jesus in a Kid’s Perspective Image result for pics of tickets

As I was eating dinner today, I was holding a conversation with my oldest about a book she is in the middle of reading. The book is called, ‘5 People You Meet in Heaven’ by Mitch Albom (sp?). Anyway, I was intrigued and decided I want to read the book as well, when my son interrupted our conversation…

“Momma, guess what?” He exclaimed excitedly.

“Hmm?” I asked, not appreciating being interrupted but accepting it.

“I was talking to my friends today and you will never guess what happened!” My son exclaimed excitedly.

“What’s that?” I asked, half-interested.

“They went to Craig’s Cruisers and someone gave them more than 400 tickets!”

“That’s nice of them.” I said, wanting to continue the conversation about the book.

“They said it was Jesus who gave them the tickets! Jesus mom! Do you think that Jesus comes down and gives kids Craig’s Cruisers tickets when kids don’t have enough of them?” My son looked at me gleefully. I couldn’t help but feel like this was a very loaded question.

“I guess I don’t know. If he wants to, I’m sure he can…” I tried to think about how to answer this question without limiting God but also without giving my son unreasonable expectations for his childhood gambling (as I like to call it) pleasure.

“Mom, I think he can. Jesus is nice and that is a very nice thing to do. It was Jesus! Ain’t that exciting, Mom?”

“That’s very exciting.” I gave up. How do I know what God will and will not do for children these days? If he feels like hanging around Craig’s Cruisers to give kids tickets, well, that’s as good a way as any to minister to today’s young society. So, the next time I take the kids to Craig’s Cruisers, I’m hoping they don’t expect to see Jesus there giving them free tickets to get prizes, but then again when I think about it, I kind of hope they do. Faith like that is awesome.

