Snow Day in America

I’m sitting in a chair under a blanket, warm and comfortable in my pajamas. Part of me feels guilty for not going into work today, however, the other part understands that my life is more precious than a job- though my job is quite important.

I was stressed out from the close calls I got into the day before. I was concerned about the 40 car pileup that happened in Muskegon less than 24 hours ago. I heard the weatherman say to stay in if possible, due to blizzard like conditions. I called my job and talked to them about it. Asking if the roads were bad, knowing that tomorrow is supposed to be hell too.

Work said to cancel my appointments and to work at home. I had paperwork stuff I had to do anyway. I agreed. I am here at home, warm, happy, and completing paperwork.

I still feel guilty. No matter what happens and what makes sense, I’m going to feel guilty. I know in the back of my mind that while I’m comfortable and toasty, there are people outside freezing to death by the minute. Today is a three-minute frostbite wwinter windowarning. Three minutes of exposed skin could potentially affect a person for the rest of their lives.

My particular clients are safe from the weather. That is a good thing. However, it doesn’t stop me from wondering how in America we can have people in the streets literally freezing to death. These people are turned away from the homeless shelters due to overcrowding and fire codes. In America where we have rooms in  our houses to store stuff instead of people, we have folks dying outside due to being cold and having no place to go.

Lord knows if I ever get the money, I will not rest until I know I’ve done everything I can to help the people around me. I will live and give the American dream!

