Lost and All Alone – True Story…

aloneI was filling out paperwork with her. As a social worker, I feel as if I’m always filling out paperwork. Sometimes the paperwork is so demanding that I forget what it is I’m really supposed to be doing as a social worker- you know, the part of my job that is supposed to matter the most.

“Okay, I need you to fill this section out and sign here.”

She looks at me with confusion on her face. I wrongly assume she cannot read. I smile kindly and take the paper from her. I read the first question. “Who is your emergency contact?”

She bites her lower lip as the tears fall down her face. She looks at me embarrassed and confused.

“An emergency contact is someone who you can contact if there is a problem…” I start to explain.

She stares at me blankly. Quietly, almost soft enough that I had to strain to hear her, she said, “You are my emergency contact. I have no one else…”

I took a deep breath and for a moment I thought about the holidays coming up. I could probably name 35 people that I could call in the midst of an emergency if I needed to. I have at least 10 that I can call in the middle of the night regularly, just to vent to.

Please take into consideration this holiday season that while we spend time having fun with our family and friends that there are people out there who literally have no one- not a single person they have to celebrate with them. Not a single person to whisper, “I love you” to. I know many people that have nobody.

For these people that I know- a smile, a wave, and a Merry Christmas makes their day. As we are fighting and dealing with the hustle and bustle of the holidays, please remember not only the children who have nothing, but the adults as well. If there is someone you are purchasing for, you are very blessed. I know a lot of people who won’t be buying or receiving anything. Nobody even realizes they are here.

