And the Tears Stung My Eyes

And the Tears Stung My Eyes

Brandina had to go to the hospital the other night. She was in severe pain and had a very difficult time using the bathroom. I knew what the problem was, but only being a mom I don’t have the ability to prescribe antibiotics- so to the hospital it was.

We were sitting there waiting on the doctor when a gurney went past our room. The woman laying in it looked like she had seen far better days and my daughter said to me, “Momma, I think I just saw a dead person.”

I said, “No, baby. She’s not dead, she’s just very sick.”

She said, “There’s a lot of really sick people here aren’t there.”

I said, “Yeah, you only go to a hospital when you are really sick, or hurt. Just like you. You are really sick so you are here.”

She said, “Mommy, I think I need to pray for these people.”

I smiled at her and said, “Okay. Go ahead.”

She crawls off the hospital bed and onto my lap. She says, “Dear God, please be with all the sick and hurt people here. Please keep them safe and healthy. Please help all of them to feel better. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.” When she was done, she looked at me and smiled and said, “Not its your turn, Mommy.”

I closed my eyes and said a prayer for every person in the hospital, just as my daughter had done. I felt the warmth in my soul as we prayed. When I said, “Amen” she jumped off my lap and back onto the hospital bed, and continued on as the feisty six-year-old I know and love.

I was awed at my child’s compassion and love as the tears stung my eyes.    

