Embarrassing Moment

Embarrassing Moment

I have three kids. Essentially that means my humility and dignity levels are very small. I go out in public with low expectations. Public is always a place where I know my kids are going to find something interesting to say or do.

In this particular situation it was late August and my allergies were driving me insane. I was headed into the church but I couldn’t stop sneezing. I must have sneezed like 15 times in a row and my nose showed no interest in stopping.

Because I have three kids, sneezing is a dangerous situation. Typically I have to cross my legs and bend down low to try to keep what belongs in my body right there. I’m not saying it always works, but I always try.

Anyway, just as I stepped into the church, I sneezed yet again; only this time crossing my legs didn’t work. The next thing I know there was a mildly warm sensation following the sneeze. It wasn’t like it was a lot, but it was enough to see.

I bent in and whispered to my daughter, “Stay here with the kids and I will be back in a few minutes.”

“Mom, where are you going?”

“All that sneezing, I have to change my pants.”

The next thing I know my daughter started to crack up and she screamed as loud as she could, “Mom! You actually peed your pants; that’s so embarrassing?!?”

My face turned thirty shades of red as I headed out the door. My thoughts were, “It wouldn’t have to be embarrassing if you wouldn’t have announced it to the entire congregation,” but instead I just smiled sweetly and continued on my way.

Never underestimate the value of a chocolate kiss in your most humiliating moments. It’s either that or go clinically insane! J

