“Help my Sheep!”

“Help my Sheep!”

            Bedtime- I think that is the worst time of any parents’ day; Especially if they have children under 8. I know my kids will fight bedtime tooth and nail! The other night I had fixed my son’s bed, I gave him about 15 drinks of water, I let him pee about 10 times, and I said prayers and tucked him in what seemed to be about a few hundred times, to the point I was getting aggravated.

“It’s bedtime now. Mommy has homework.” I pleaded with my boy.

“I’m being a good boy momma, I’m going to bed.” I couldn’t help but wonder when that would happen. I just nodded my head and marched up the stairs for what I told myself was going to be the last time.

“Okay, this is it. Momma’s not coming up anymore. It is time to stay in bed.” I kissed his head softly, and turned to leave the room.

“I love you momma.”

“I love you too baby.” I walked out feeling good about it.

As I sat down to my computer I heard the creak on the floor above my head. I knew he had gotten up again. I didn’t say anything, I just sat and waited. Sure enough a few moments later he came bounding down the stairs.

“I thought I told you to stay in bed.”

“I wanted to stay in bed but my sheep wouldn’t let me.”

“What?” I asked, confused.

“My sheep wouldn’t let me stay in bed. You need to fix it.”

“Why is sis’ sheep on your bed?” I asked bewildered. My daughter has a stuffed sheep that she plays with from time to time.

“The sheep on my bed. It needs fixed.”

“Bubbee, (that’s what I call my son), there shouldn’t be a sheep on your bed! It is nu-night time.”

He started to whine. I was frustrated. “What is the problem?” I asked.

“My sheep is on my bed and it needs fixed.”

“What sheep?”

“My white sheep.”

“Look I am not going upstairs again! Now go to bed. You are being silly and it’s bedtime! I will fix the sheep tomorrow!”

More whining. Finally, out of frustration more than anything, I went upstairs to go see what he was talking about. I got up the stairs to see my son’s fitted sheet off the corner of the bed and lying where my son should be at. I laughed while asking him, “Is this the sheep you are talking about?”

“Yeah, see momma. I told you my sheep needs fixed.” I smiled at my baby and fixed his ‘sheep’. I then kissed his cheek and turned the lights out for the night.

